School

Posted: 10/27/2010 in accomplishments, Individual, learning, Me, School

Below is one of the papers I have written for my Human Development class along with the grade and comment from my professor. I would have never dreamed of getting comments like this. School has been great for me. I am really enjoying it. I am looking forward to many years of learning ahead.

Here is what the question was:

Television: Imagine you are presently teaching. A parent of a student in your class wants your advice about his or her child watching too much television. The parent wants to know if you think that watching three hours of television a day is going to harm the child in some way. How do you respond?

Carly Blasco

FHS 2570 The Child Six to Twelve

Section 4:Television:

  

                My first thought would be to simply say yes and be done with the conversation. That is only because I can’t fathom allowing a child to sit in front of what I consider an electronic babysitter for 3 hours a day.

                I would ask the parent if I could have some time to think about their question and get back with them in a couple of days. If my offer was accepted, this is where I would go home and collect my thoughts on how to approach the situation. Not that it would impact how I feel on the subject; however I would definitely take into consideration how the child is doing in school, if the parents are actively involved in the child’s education, etc.

                It is a sensitive position to be in when a parent asks a question of this nature, in return you are basically critiquing their parenting skills. I would then collect all of the facts to keep it as impersonal as possible; I feel that by simply sharing the facts from various studies, it would prevent the parent(s) from getting as defensive. Think of a time when someone has shared their opinion about the way you do something?

                Like I stated at the beginning, yes I think that 3 hours of television a day is too much. In my personal opinion, it doesn’t allow a child to learn what reality is; they are watching these people act on a screen all day; when they go into the real world how shocked they will be when those they interact with don’t behave the way the individuals do on the television? Along those same lines, it becomes an addiction to escape from reality; instead of learning to cope or problem solve one who watches television that much will simply escape their problems. In turn this is ultra damaging as problems can build up inside and after time an individual can explode over something insignificant. Watching excessive television can also teach ineffective behaviors; think about a road and how it gets worn down, car after car after car. Your brain is the same way; watching violent acts over and over again can wear on one’s brain to the point that it seems natural to act in such a manner. Why wouldn’t it be, the people on the television are acting that way and they are getting away with it, why wouldn’t I be able to? There is so much to offer in the world; why waste each day away by sitting in front of something that doesn’t stimulate your mind? The biggest issue I have with excessive television is, here is a young mind, thirsting for knowledge, love and attention from their parents; that’s what we all thrive off of, yet you stick them in front of, again, what I call an electronic baby sitter to raise them. So much is being missed out on; seeing the world through a child’s eyes is absolutely breathtaking! To be brought back to reality, to be stopped in your daily tracks and to see what most people miss.

                On a factual note I would share with the parent information from various sites; I like what this site says under Mind Deterioration, “Along the lines of that, have you ever tried to do get things done after watching TV? It’s as if you’ve become “mind paralyzed” and you have to wait for your brain to slowly get back in gear. I call that time period the “dead zone” and even after that, you’re still not working at peak efficiency.” The irony that you can feel so tired after not having used one ounce of energy.  Another site puts it so perfectly, “TV also decreases one’s attention span and weakens one’s imagination. It weakens our attention span because we grow used to quick, short bursts of information. As a result, we grow impatient if it takes a while to make a point. TV weakens our imagination because everything is portrayed for us. All we have to do is sit back and observe someone else’s imagination.”

                Our bodies are incredibly designed, they are powerful beyond our wildest imagination; why not get out there and see what we are capable of instead of living life not knowing or wondering what if. How challenging it is to share your thoughts and opinions with another parent, yet with love and facts, I have the thought that it would be a productive conversation. If a parent has enough courage to ask the question, be sensitive in your response; that shows they are somewhat aware that there is potentially a problem.

Comment from my professor:

Section IV-C: 15  (out of 15) Great job, Carly -one of the best papers I’ve read on this subject. I like that in spite of your strong opinion, you are sensitive about just expressing it to the parents. What a great idea to get some unbiased, factual information for them. Those were thought-provoking quotes in your paper also. I appreciate all the work you did on this
Comments
  1. Jamie says:

    Awesome! You are very articulate and provided a well though out explanation of the steps you would take in answering the question. Way to go!! Validation from a professor does wonders, too!

    I wish I could have talked last night. After I last texted you, I fell asleep soon after because it’s just been that kind of week.

    Glad you posted this!

Leave a Reply

