Where our journey began!

Posted: 06/24/2008 in Adoption, Blessings, Little Miss, MikeandElisa

” Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask oursleves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a Child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” Nelson Mandela

I posted this quote on June 17th of 2007. Unknown to me I would see this comment a few days later :

Elisa said…
I have been lurking on your site for a week or two now and I have never posted a comment. I just wanted you to know that this qoute is one of my favorites. I also admire you so much for the decision that you have made. My husband and I have been on the waiting list through LDS family services for about 3 months now and are so excited.”
6/21/2007 10:07 AM

I tried to look at the blog that was attached to the link but it was private. I had this sincere hope that the couple attached to this comment would quickly be placed with as I felt for them. Little did I know where this comment would take me. Exactly 2 months later Little Miss Calli would be born , and it would be another comment down the road that would spark my memory of this amazing couple to help quide me to place Calli with them and a year later to the date Calli would turn 10 months old. So much has happened. Miracles all around. Really stops me in my tracks.
Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Beautiful words. I am in awe.

  2. julie says:

    I love this quote too! It really inspired me to just let everything go and just be happy being me! And it is fabulous. I truly believe it too. Our deepest fear is the power and light we have in us, but we need to over come it and let is bless the lives of others! I am glad that you are in the neighborhood. We need to get together soon! I’ll call you.

  3. Desi says:

    I just recently found your blog and I appreciate your views on open adoption.I have linked to your blog in a post that I have scheduled to post tomorrow morning about adoption. Please check it out tomorrow and let me know if that’s ok.

  4. It really is amazing the way your two families were brought together by the internet! PS. Glad you got moved out ok.

  5. It’s so incredible to me how seemingly simple things (like this quote) allow different peoples’ paths to merge together. I’m so glad you and Elisa found each other! I am always in awe of the incredible bond that you share with each other. Everything about you, Carly, is inspiring! 🙂

Leave a Reply

