Nothing But A Good Time

Posted: 03/31/2008 in Adoption, Elisa, Friendships, Good Times, Little Miss, Thoughts

So this weekend as usual it seems my Peanut was at her Dads house. *sigh* Anyways this always creates conflict within me because I get to go out and yet I miss her. Needless to say I was able to spend some time with Elisa this weekend. On Friday night I went up to her Parents house and did some haircuts and watched Miss Calli ham it up on center stage. She is too much. On Saturday we decided to have a girls night out and do whatever came to mind. Even though we have the HARDEST time deciding what to do, whatever it is we agree on since we are the same in so many ways. We started off by sharing a yummy dinner at Red Robin. It is funny cause every time we go out we just share something. It actually works out really well. Then we went to Michaels and got some things for Elisa to make Princess Calli more headbands, the girl has a million, and some sealant to put on the molds of her hand and foot that I have from when she was born. We were there for awhile. Impressed when we left that we weren’t bankrupt! After that we weren’t sure what to do. Just hanging out and talking is always fine with me since having adult conversation and a night out seems to rarely happen. Oh yes we also stopped by a little shop where Elisa got a cute skirt and shirt. =) I was in the mood for a good laugh and wasn’t sure what was going to give me the fix. We drove by the movies and nothing really looked appealing except Juno. Elisa said it was actually funny . I decided to go for it . I don’t think I have laughed that hard in so long. It felt like we were the only ones in the theatre. Like nobody else was around us. It was weird to think that we have actually experienced the world of adoption and yet nobody else knew. The movie was great but in all reality there was no way it honestly portrayed the actual emotions of adoption. Unless you have been there it wouldn’t give you to full effect. Of course towards the end I lost it. Lots of self control was used to not make a complete scene. We sat and talked in the theatre until the music stopped and continued our conversation out in the car. It was a PERFECT night! I’m so unbelievably grateful that Calli has been given the world. That she has been given everything that I ever wanted for her and then some. A unique Friendship at that. One that I hold dear to my heart.

Thank you Elisa for a PERFECT night!

Comments
  1. I love that you have such a wonderful relationship/friendship with Elisa! It so makes me smile! And I really want to see this movie, but it never came to my little town. I can’t wait for it to come out on DVD. “Bella” is also another wonderful adoption movie. It was very moving and touching for both my husband and I.

  2. -Jamie says:

    How fun!! Girl’s nights out are a MUST. I haven’t seen that movie yet, but would love to. I wish we had a dollar movies around here!

  3. Ohlins says:

    I’m glad you came with us on Friday it was a lot of fun! Thanks again for the haircuts they look great and I really appreciate it! I’m glad you had fun on your girls night!

  4. Kim says:

    I liked this movie a lot. I have seen it three times. Being in the adoption world though, we see it doesn’t even come close to portraying actuality, but for a two hour flick, it did a good job at spreading the word “adoption”. I am really sad I missed out, thanks for the texty invite. We’ll have to get together soon! Hugs.

  5. arianne says:

    it is so great you can have that kind of relationship with Elsa! it makes me really miss our birthmom. I didn’t LOVE Juno the first time I saw it. I think I want to see it again. I have heard it is better the second time!!! 🙂 I am glad you had a GREAT GNO!! 🙂

  6. Cyndi says:

    Having this relationship with Elisa is so great for Calli. You guys will not regret it at all. I saw the movie and yes it was funny but I knew that it wouldn’t really be that easy for anyone. Glad you had a fun girls weekend. Have a great week.

  7. Katie says:

    I must say I didn’t like the movie. I just couldn’t wrap my brain around the idea that, that girl was supposed to be 16- I felt like she was 12 she was so immature.

Leave a Reply

