Ah-HA

Posted: 02/22/2008 in Emotions, Just Because, Thoughts

Alexithymia

Alexithymia means literally “no words for feelings.” It is a common condition, particularly among people who have experienced traumatic or deprived childhoods.Without words for feelings it becomes impossible to deal with those feelings.

A helpful and basic way of categorizing our feelings is to think about whether we are feeling: Glad, Mad, Sad or Bad. Once we are able to do this, we can go on to look at how what we are feeling can really be described to ourselves and others. The key to effectively expressing our feelings is to accurately identify our feelings.For example, if you are nervous, you know that you are feeling bad. But, there is more to it than just feeling bad. So then you go through the list provided to see if what you are experiencing fits into any of the feelings listed. Nervous could mean many things to you. You could be feeling anxious, overwhelmed, muddled or troubled. May be “overwhelmed” is the feeling that accurately describes what you are experiencing. asSo you have identified that you are feeling bad and that can further be described feeling overwhelmed. Now, you have accomplished a few things:You have identified how you are feelingYou can tell someone else how you are feelingYou can do something that will make you feel better.

I found this on the internet at work today. Learning this word today was the biggest Ah-ha for me!!! It is perfect for how I felt or not felt inside. Just dumbfounded. Paralyzed is good too. So much going on that I can’t decide what I am feeling. Thank goodnes for other peoples studies to help people out like me.
Comments
  1. I’m so glad that you wrote this post. I have totally felt this way too at times.

  2. Kim says:

    I think I suffer from this too. :^)

  3. I was feeling exactly this way today… I’m glad I’m not the only one.

  4. Leisha says:

    I love that! I’m printing it out for our family to use!

Leave a Reply

