Quote on Trials

Posted: 01/30/2008 in Quotes, Thoughts
I found this quote some time ago in a study guide and I am extremely greatful for it. If I remember correctly it was when I was in one of my “life isn’t fair” modes. Not the first or last time I will go through one of those. I am sure we have all thought that one time or another. Needless to say this quote always comes to my mind when I hear someone mention a trial, frustration, or a hardship that no person should go through. It doesn’t take the pain of it all away, but at least for me it helps it all just make a little more sense. If that is possible. There are definitely challenges in life that I look at and say, I am so grateful for my challenges because that is something I don’t feel I could handle. Hence the reason why we are each given our own person trials because we can handle them. They may not make sense at the time that we are in the middle of them or as the outsider we may be thinking that it isn’t fair that someone has to experience a certain pain but we are never left hanging as long as we ask for the help and the spiritual eyes to see and learn why we are going through a specific experience. Also one correction in this quote is how it says , free agency. I don’t think there is anything free about agency. There is always an effect to every cause. We are given agency to do whatever we choose to do with it. We could sit around in this life and say ” Oh I was given this trial or this happened cause of someone elses choices” In all reality we would drive ourselves crazy. All that really matters is what we do with what we are handed. Not how it comes to us. Coming from a CONTROLING person that wants to be in charge of everything, well most everything, it is really hard to COMPLETELY humble myself and hand something over to Heavenly Father and blindly trust Him even though every time I do it turns out better then if I were in charge. So frustrating. He does know if better than we know ourselves. He does have the big picture. Being a mortal is hard! It is sad though that ,usually, it is at the expense of someone elses pain that makes us stop and think twice or appreciate what we have right under our nose.

Now, we find many people critical when a righteous person is killed, a young father or mother is taken from a family, or when violent deaths occur. Some become bitter when oft-repeated prayers seem unaswered. Some lose faith and turn sour when solemn administrations by holy men seem to be ignored and no restoration seems to come from repeated prayer circles. But if all the sick were healed, if all the righteous were protected and the wicked destroyed, the whole program of the Father would be annulled and the basic principle of the Gospel, free agency, would be ended. If pain and sorrow and total punishment immediately followed the doing of evil, no soul would repeat a misdeed. If joy and peace and rewards were instantaneously given the doer of good, there could be no evil – all would do good and not because of the rightness of doing good. There would be no test of strength, no development of character, no growth of powers, no free agency, no Satanic controls. Should all prayers be immediately answered according to our selfish desires and our limited understanding, then there would be little or no suffering, sorrow, disappointment, or even death; and if these were not, there would also be an absence of joy, success, resurection, eternal life, and godhood.President Spencer W. Kimball

Comments
  1. Wow, I could not have read that quote at a more appropriate time. My husbands friend was killed on Sunday, he was a fellow police officer of my husbands and it has taken quite a toll on him and hunderds of other officers. And I have struggled with why this husband and father of 4 had to leave this life. He was a good man and will truely be missed by the people who loved him and the community he served. So I thank you for the quote.Michelle

  2. Tried to post a comment yesterday but blogger wouldn’t let me. Thanks for the quote; it’s a good one to remember. I also like his book, The Miracle of Forgiveness.

  3. I would love an email!brandiannjohnson@yahoo.comThanks!

Leave a Reply

